With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

The concept of focusing on oil and gas sources in uncharted territories is gaining more popularity in various countries. While this has admittedly certain benefits, I would contend that these are outweighed by the drawbacks.

On the one hand, searching for untouched resources of oil and gas can be advantageous to a certain extent. Foremost among these is that people can utilize alternative sources from natural reserves to fulfill the massive demand for fossil fuel like oil and gas. This is because of the fact that the remaining amount of non-renewable energy on Earth is running out and it will be forecasted to exhaust in the near future. Another advantage could be that the price of fossil fuel can be lower because of the latest discovery of abundant energy reservoirs. Because of that, people can spend less money for heating their houses, running cars or motorbikes and the production of goods.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, I am convinced that the aforementioned advantages pale in significance when compared to the drawbacks of searching for other sources of oil and gas in remote areas. One legitimate concern revolves around the overexploitation of the environment. This is because fragment natural landscapes damage the habitat and threaten the ecological balance in that area. Another disadvantage is that the pollution from industrial activities accelerate the depletion of said natural resources, making them soon become exhaustive.

In conclusion, despite certain benefits of exploring more energy sources, I am of the opinion that its drawbacks are more significant.