With the rise of internet, more and more people are getting news through social media platforms. Do the advantage of this trend outweigh the disadvantage?

Citizen believe that the news consumption through social media platform is in rise. This essay will argue that the disadvantage outweighs the advantage. It will first explain that the news coverage through social media can be fake and manipulative as the major drawbacks followed by the analysis of how the primary benefit namely spreading news in no time, is not valid.

People say that the anonimity privilege provided by the social media namely Facebook, Instagram and You tube can help any human post any content without the proof of it being the truth. Anyone can create account in social media and post any content but the authenticity of that news may not always be verified. A recent survey by Oxford University has concluded that the news circulated in social media tend to be falsified most of the times to gain more views and likes. Social media pages that are percieved to be authentic are mostly controlled by a nation, political parties or businesses, as a result, their news can be manipulative in nature. The controlling party can provide the kind of news to the public so as to gain benefit by twisting viewer’s own opinion. The news presented through Kantipur Television, a popular news channel of Nepal favors the Congress party and can be seen supporting it in any case scenario.

Those opposed to this say that the information spread is rapid through internet community. The information can reach to large number of people within a blink of an eye. However, speed can also cause the problem in case a false narrative against an individual is being set up. In recent Olympic, grand sport festival held in Italy, a boxer from Algeria was accused of being man and the whole world got to know that in no time (although that rumor was proven to be false) caused distress to an athlete.

In conclusion, fake news leads to manipulation of opinion of an individual which clearly outweighs the flawed argument that it has great speed.