With the rise of online education, some predict traditional universities will become obsolete. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What might be the unintended consequences of such a shift?

I disagree with this one. I believe that the online education will compliment the existing system of the traditional universities. With the rise of younger generations, education system suppose to accomodate everyone. The traditional on-site learning might be facing difficulties in accomodating the wave of the new students. Therefore, online learning might be helpful to bring them to learn from everywhere through their gadget. This might be helfpul also for students from remote areas that have limited access towards major cities which universities are usually located at.

However, the drawback from it should be reconsider since different learning environment will affect how student learn the subjects. Online education might be unbeneficial for students who are lazy and like to skip online classes or cheat on online exam by looking for the answer online. Some practical sessions, like laboratory experiment, are also can not be done through online learning.

In the end, I still believe that online learning is really helpful with university learning. Nevertheless, lecturers should manage it responsibly to avoid the potential drawbacks from it.