With the rise of personalized medicine and genetic testing, some argue that health insurance companies should have access to individuals' genetic information to tailor premiums based on predisposition to certain diseases. Others believe this would lead to discrimination and unfair pricing. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Everyone wants a healthty life. In this advanced world, people are able to know their predispositions to certain diseases because of the progress of personalized medicine and genetic testing. Some individuals view this knowledge as an empowerment, leading them to proactive lifestyle changes, in contrary, others believe it might lead them to axienty, discrimination, and unnecessary medical interventions. Therefore, ahead of my opinion, both the views will be discussed further.

On one hand, people believe having knowledge about their predispositions to certain diseases can help them prevent the disease from occuring and they see this knowledge as an empowerment. When a certain someone knows that they are in danger, their first instinct is to avoid it. Knowing what might come can give them a sense of feeling that they are in control of what is happening and help these individuals to feel at ease.

On the other hand, other individuals view that this could lead to negative effects such as anxiety, discrimination, and unnecessary medical interventions. It is possible that people panic when they know that they are prone to certain health problems. So rather than taking actions in calm manner, they overthink about what they should do, leading them to feel unease then resulting in taking unnecessary interventions. Futhermore, after holding the knowledge, they might be scared that they will be seen different from others.

In my opinion, both of these views are totally understanable, because everyone is different, people can have different reaction when they are facing a problem. But i believe that they have their decision in their own hands, so if they know that gaining knowledge about their health predispositions would gave them anxienty then it is better for them to not search for it. Because even though this information is accessable, they can still choose to not access it. It should depends on the individual needs.