With the rise of remote work, companies are increasingly adopting asynchronous communication methods (e.g., email, messaging apps) over face-to-face meetings. Do the benefits of this shift in work communication styles outweigh the drawbacks for team cohesion and innovation?

In today’s technologically advanced world, almost everything in every category has undergone a change in some shape or form to adapt to the fleeting wave of innovative advancements. This includes how we work, communicate and interact with one another within a company environment. With the advent of remote work – the act of completing tasks that would otherwise be done in person at an office setting in the comfort of your home, companies now have more variety than ever to communicate with employees and vice versa. Asynchronous methods, namely chatting apps such as TeamSpeak, Skype or Discord, offer many advantages that real-time communication already and much more. For that, I strongly believe that the company culture of today’s society should welcome these tools as a means for the future.

One of the many benefits that it brings is convenience. When communicating virtually, you do not need the physical presence of yourself or the party you need to reach to be able to get your memo across. You can simply leave a message there for them, lo and behold it will stay there for them until they read it. For many reasons, this is much more advantageous than in-person talking. The virtual message left by you will be in the inbox until the other party closes it themselves, so it can also potentially serve as a stick-it note whenever you need. For team collaboration, this means everyone can have a say; whereas in real life, those who are too shy to speak up will fail to do so.

Another great feature is the fact that this means you don’t need to physically be in office to contribute to the company. A prime example would be during the COVID-19 pandemic, where the entire world stopped dead in it’s tracks for one and a half years due to disease. Even though the plague wreaked havoc, studies show the productivity levels of employees sky rocketed compared to when they were working in person. This is down to the fact that they were able to work at home, in a familiar place with familiar surroundings. This also means higher morale levels. Even though many corporations lost profits during this time period, they were able to bounce back relatively quickly after lockdown due to this very reason. Employees feel better when thye’re working from home, which benefits not just the workers but the employers themselves.

In conclusion, asynchronous communication methods within a company is an invention that has transformed the way we work with each other for the better. Not only does productivity increase, so does employees’ happiness and contentment with their line of work. Innovations aim to change lives as we know it, and these communication methods certainly did affect team collaboration efforts for the forseeable future, and for good as well.