With the rise of remote work, companies are increasingly adopting asynchronous communication methods (e.g., email, messaging apps) over face-to-face meetings. Do the benefits of this shift in work communication styles outweigh the drawbacks for team cohesion and innovation?

With the increasing popularity of remote work, many companies are subscribing to the idea of asynchronous communication methods including email, and messaging platforms instead of promoting face-to-face meetings.

My personal belief is that this is a positive movement as it brings about more accessibility to the work-place environment.

On the one hand, this recent trend also has its downsides such as, making the meetings less impactful, and decreased professionalism within the work force. To illustrate these points, the lack of human connection could influence how much these gatherings resonate with the employees. Next, meetings that are attended in-person promote more formal and professional conversations which in return boosts productivity.

On the other hand, asynchronous communication provides a large range of tools that increase accessibility, communication between co-workers, and quality of life. To exemplify these points, email and messaging applications provide an easy to understand platform for companies to inform their workers of any important news. Next, planning programs, support the employees by letting them review their assignments in a clear and confined space. All the examples stated here provide unparalleled ease of use and promote productivity for the workers.

To sum it all up, I firmly believe in the notion that asynchronous communication is a positive change for every work-space. Although real-life meetings provide many advantages, the undeniable strengths that come with asynchronous communication methods outweigh them drastically. As a final solution, companies should harness both of these methods while leaning less into in-person gatherings to provide a stable and accessible work-place environment for its workers.