With the rise of remote work and digital nomadism, individuals are increasingly choosing to live and work in different countries for extended periods. While this offers opportunities for cultural exchange and personal growth, do the advantages of this lifestyle outweigh the disadvantages related to social integration and professional stability?

The substantial increase of smartworking gave to a considerable percentage of workers the opportunity to live and operate in foreign countries for a certain period of time. Clearly this opportuniy improves several aspects of a human being including their personal and cultural growth, on the other hand numerous people may argue against this thesis believing that this would make it challenging for workers to integrate and remain professionaly stable.

I personally believe that working and studying in foreign countries helps in increasing and developing multiple skills, for example it helps being independent, facing new situations with none aid, improving the language. In addition, having the possibility to live outside our confort zone, makes us enter in a “survival mode” which undoubtedly will design an unprecendented version of us, or rather, more solar and outgoing. For instance, in the most performing universities students are encouraged to leave for an exchange semester due to the increase of personal and professional skills.

Furthermore, nowadays traveling and working in different countries is an advantage that several companies look for in people’s curriculum vitae, owing to, as I precedently aimed, a notable increase in individual skills. In fact, interface and communicate with colleagues all over the world cause the subject to collect new information and a subsequential advance in their abilities.

On the other hand, it is clear that it’s not always convenient to welcome unknows in our personal space but studies demonstrate that this collateral side is gradually disapperaing, and even though at the beginning there may be obstacles in the personal stability, it’s about an experience that is worth to be lived.

In conclusion, the substantial growth of people operating outside their mother country is an evident opportunity of personal developement and, unlikely as many could think, a chance of social integration.