With the rise of remote work and globalization, the traditional concept of national identity is being challenged. Some argue that increasing interconnectedness weakens national cultures, while others believe it strengthens them. Discuss both sides of this argument and give your own opinion on the future of national identity in an increasingly globalized world.

In today’s society, the growth of remote employment and globalization is one of the most significant developments that challenge national identity in many countries. Accordingly, people debate whether the current dynamic of the global interconnectivity benefits the countries, or this development weakens the national identity. This essay will examine both views and give my personal views on the further evolution of the national identity in the highly globalized era.

Beginning with the initial perspective that mentions the importance and value of the interconnection, it is evident that people receive numerous benefits such as working remotely, gaining access to the network, providing services for their personal needs, and having connections with others. For example, big numbers of companies from Kazakhstan are collaborating with other corporations from China, The United States, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and many others; they experiment their productions, connect their logistics, and even try their scientific researches. As a result, this strategy is often considered to be highly beneficial in terms of international relations, and political stability, which directly affects both cultural identity or reputation for the country, and also increases the effectiveness of international collaboration.

Conversely, people also tend to strengthen their own national reputation by fostering mutual respect from abroad with a huge variety of actions, which slightly reduces the benefits that globalization offers; surprisingly, numerous people perceive it more as an investment in their own identity rather than an opportunity for strategically essential collaboration with others. Accordingly, it leads to the misleading assumption within the nation: “other countries try to control or influence us by their actions”. For instance, old men and old women in Asian countries such as Kyrgyzstan highly believe and support this kind of idea, they consistently warn the younger generation that “the idea of globalization is a myth, and it makes us forget about our own history”; alternatively, people can use interconnection for education and personal development, although it depends on the users’ desire and perception. Therefore, interconnection itself is not considered to be hazardous or manipulative, it is simply perceived by the alerted observers.

Summarizing all the information, people do believe that globalization has a significant impact on human connectivity, but also others perceive the globalization as a threat for the cultural identity; the key is to adapt the globalization process to fit into society wider, thereafter, the globalization can serve people, not hesitate them. The countries that prioritize their identities are not “weaker countries” in terms of strategic importance, however, if the nations are not likely to accept the idea, they are in the challenging position for the further development.