Write a 250-word essay for the topic: More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

It is true that the consumption of drinks containing high amounts of sugar is significantly increasing. This can be attributed to several factors, which calls for possible solutions to be adopted.

There are several explanations as to why many people tend to consume sugary drinks. One possibility is that sugar- sweetened beverages may provide a great source of energy for humans body. This is because this kind of drink usually contains caffeine, a stimulant substance that offers users the opportunity to boost alertness quickly, but causes them to get fatigued as soon as it wears off. Thus, people have no choice but to exceed their intake of soft drinks to achieve efficiency at work. This can be exemplified by Red Bull energy drink which is directly targeted at various people, especially students and workers. These groups of people often have to face up to fatigue or mental stress, and thus consume a glut of products with a view to improve concentration levels and help them feel more refreshed and relaxed.

Various measures, nevertheless, can be implemented to address these issues. The first possible solution is that government should impose higher taxes on the production of soft or energy drinks. This might prevent individuals from purchasing too many unhealthy beverages. The second approach is that students or busy workers should follow healthy dietary guidelines and lifestyles. Instead of using sugar-based drinks, individuals have a variety of options that are not only cheap but also made with fresh ingredients, such as fruit juice, tea, and so on. As a result, these solutions allow people to refrain from adding sugar to their drinks, thereby relieving the burden on the health care system.

In conclusion, while many reasons can be given to explain why there is a rapid increase in the consumption of sugary beverages, steps can be taken to improve the situation.