Write a 250-word essay for the topic: More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

Coca-Cola and other sugary beverages indeed tend to be more consumed. This can lead to several factors which call for possible solutions to be adopted.

There are many explanations for the increasing consumption of sugar-based drinks. One possibility is that sugar-drink companies strongly promote their products through a lot of advertisements. They create many events, marketing campaigns or cooperate with influencers to attract the attention of potential consumers, thereby allowing consumers to attempt to try these beverages. For example, The Pepsi advertises their drinks on Youtube or Facebook or special events such as World Cup, which provide them with the opportunity to enhance their brand images and boost the sale of their products. Another point worth mentioning is that the convenience of sugar-based drinks. These products are widely available in vending machines, supermarkets, convenience stores, and restaurants with various different tastes, which means that people can buy these very easily and fast. By way of illustration, with a busy and fast lifestyle, employees have habits of drinking these drinks in their meals instead of wasting time eating something. Consequently, they face an increased risk of cardiovascular problems or diabetes.

Various measures , nevertheless , can be implemented to address these issues. The first possible solution is for the government to impose a high tax on the advertisements and companies of sugar-based drinks. As a result, this makes the prices of these beverages go up, and these advertisements disappear on social media. Thus, citizens are exposed to these ads’ difficulty and tend to choose other options with lower prices. The second approach is that organisations should propagate the negative impact of sugar-based drinks on people’s health. When people are aware of the detrimental effects, they may consume beverages that are good for them, such as water or fruit juice. For instance, parents will buy their children milk and fruit juices instead of Coca-Cola and Fanta.

In conclusion, while many reasons can be given to explain why civilians drink more sugar-containing drinks, steps can be taken to improve the situation.