Write a 250-word essay for the topic: More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

In recent years, consumption of sugar sweetened beverages has grown rapidly worldwide. Many people, particularly teenagers and young adults, prefer to grab some sugar-flavoured drink, rather than regular bottled water at the store. This essay will discuss the reasons behind it, such as marketing, convenience of buying these products and its high-level affordability and also will give solutions that should be implemented as soon as possible to resolve this problem.

Firstly, one major reason of this ongoing problem is marketing, specifically the promotion of sugar-based drinks through mass media. The social media platforms and TV channels are filled with numerous soda drinks advertisements. The campaigns of promotion financially prosper day by day investing tremendous sums into their ads. It encompasses visual image,that viewers may like and the message of the advertisement, which is the most important part of it. Another reason of high consumption of sugary sweetened drinks is it’s high-level of affordability and convenience of buying it. For example, Pepsi or Coca Cola are the most famous and easy to purchase soft beverages,which are displayed on market shelves in nearly 200 countries.

Secondly, first solution that should be implemented to decrease the level of consumption is to reduce the promotion of sugar-based drinks and start to promote healthier types of beverages like regular non-flavoured water or organic juice. Another solution is to ban soft drinks at school canteens or cafeterias, because most of kids and teens, according to the recent survey, are the most popular consumers of these products. Schools should set up lectures about how bad these types of beverages affect our health and how its overconsumption can lead to several diseases, including diabetes,obesity and dental caries.

To conclude, marketing such products should be reduced by advertising healthier beverages in order to promote them. The next step is to ban soft drinks at school canteens and explain the danger of drinking these types of beverages to kids. The children tend to follow adults choices, so they should teach them to be aware of such choices like buying sugar-based drinks.