Write about the following topic. Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Because of the advancement and rapid expansion of supermarket in some nations, numerous small, local business have failed to compete. Others believe that the closure of local business would bring about the decline of local communities. I completely agree with this point of view.

Initially, growing of supermarkets lead to economic impact. The rise of supermarkets cause lower prices, due to bulk purchasing, making it harder for small business to compete. Local business often struggle because they cannot afford the same discounts of advertising as large supermarkets as. Besides, the closure of small, local business can lead to the decline in local culture and unique products. We can see that local business bring a sense of identity and traditional in a community, which supermarkets may not. To illustrate, some unique items are only available at local business own and are limited to the area where they operate.

Additionally, supermarkets may create jobs, but they often offer a lower wage compared to small business. If local markets close, local people will lose career opportunities, leading to high unemployment rates. Supermarkets provide many various, convenience and lower prices products, which local business may not. However, customers will lose their personalized service and unique, locally made products. Moreover, this aspects lead to environmental considerations. Products are locally made from local sources, reducing transportation-related pollution. Meanwhile, supermarkets depend on mass production, which can increase carbon footprints.

In conclusion, the emergence and expansion of supermarkets bring many drawbacks for small local business, causing the loss of traditional identity, job opportunities and leading to their closure.