Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some would argue that adverts inform us about the latest products to ease our lives, while some would differ with the statement. While the commercials inform us about the newest services and keep us updated with the latest trends, I believe that we end up purchasing more unwanted items than we need.

The primary goal of the companies is to sell their product in the market and increase their profits, and to achieve this goal they hire multiple data scientists to study people’s buying habits and they try to use this information to make their products more relatable. For Example, The banks in their commercials show that having their new credit card with more cashback features will make their customers’ lives smooth and one should sign up for it, but the catch here is the institution charges a hefty annual percentage rate up to 40% on the credited amount. I believe these types of advertising do not help anyone because the individual will just increase their debts rather than improve their lives.

On the other hand, there are certain essential products available in the market which make one’s life easier. There are many new startups have formed which are helping the society in many ways. For example, the Zomato food delivery startup in India was formed to deliver food from restaurants to one’s home, now they have also trained their food delivery agents to act as first responders in case of any accident or any other emergency. The organization telecasted the advertisement and has received a very positive response. I think these types of adverts are needed as they keep us informed of the latest developments.

In Conclusion, although certain commercials make us buy things we don’t need, but they keeps us updated with the trends. In my opinion, just the thought from the advert that the product might be useful in future one ends up buying it.