Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A group of people believe that promotional messages and posts make them purchase unnecessary things while others say that such promotions are of great help in knowing about new products and improving living standards. I am in favor of the second approach and will give my reasons to support this view.

Firstly, advertisements make one aware of the new products and technology available in the market, which one person is unaware of due to the no market approach. For. instance, a woman wants to purchase a new washing machine and does not have time to do a market survey about recent products’ availability but pamphlets and ads on social media make things easy for her.

Moreover, such promotional messages tell us about futuristic gadgets such as robots that perform cleaning functions of the house about which a normal person living only within the boundaries of his/ her house can never be aware.

On the other hand these day by day increasing promotions and ads are making life difficult. Such subtle tactics of companies to sale their products catch the attention of a huge population, most of them being women, start buying unnecessary products and spend their hard earned money. Furthermore, children get influenced by these messages and force their parents to buy things not good for them. Take the example of India where approximately 70% kids have been found involved in forcing parents to purchase non useful things just because of social media influencers and posts about new items in the market.

To conclude this all, where advertisements and promotional campaigns are making product selection easier at the same time such things are impacting the society negatively. But in my opinion the drawbacks of this approach outweigh the advantages.