Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In this day and age, several people believe that advertising makes us purchase unnecessary stuff while others contend that information about new products that may enhance our lives’ standard is shown by advertisements. From my perspective, I hold the opinion that adverts encourage us to spend on unimportant items. This essay will shed light on both views and clarify my opinion.

On the one hand, catalogs and brochures enable people to compare products and services at leisure. This would help people to buy real bargains in a satisfied mood. For instance, every brand in the shopping mall has their own catalogs to illustrate the products and their benefits. This kind of advertising assists people to have knowledge on things they want to buy. Moreover, if you do not have time to shop around, you can rely on advertising to learn about products. Today, the majority of adverts on TV often demonstrate their good sides and uses. However, the information is not always the truth.

Adverts frequently exaggerate the benefits of the products that make people want artificially. Especially children, they are easily influenced by commercials and then pester their parents to buy certain products. For example, My Kingdom, a famous brand for selling toys, often promotes their products on kids channels. Parents, who are pestered, can easily use coupons up to 50% for the first time purchase via the hotline that is shown on the television during the broadcast. Additionally, the image of power, success and glamor associated with the products is always shown. People can be amazed with the beauty of these things and they will certainly make a purchase without being concerned.

To conclude, although advertisements bring people certain details about the products, these information are not reliable and valuable. The commercials solely aim to entice more and more customers.