Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In the modern era, advertisements shape the spending habits of the crowds and contribute excessively to their dynamic lifestyle. A section of society strongly believes that their extravagant spending is prompted by the advertising they see on a daily basis while others claim being introduced to new life-changing products via the same medium. This essay will discuss and argue against how such promotion of goods and services leads to hefty expenditure by the masses while expanding the idea of improvements brought about by the same.

To begin with, advertisements are visible in daily life in various forms and mediums, ranging from physical mediums such as billboards, and gigantic display hoardings, etc. to online mediums like social media, promotional calls, etc. Being exposed to catchy offers at almost every touch point of the day, one might experience the ‘Fear of Missing Out’ (FOMO). This feeling induces and prompts them to buy things that are not needed actually. For example, the promoters of new products generally hire social media influencers to incorporate their commodities into their routine to make an ostentatious display. Such actions spur the feeling of missing out on something trendy and induce them to buy it without a second thought.

Despite this, the developments brought about by the ads are of greater significance. Advertising, especially in various sections of the society, has generated an awareness of healthier and safer living by promoting ever-improving goods and services. The competition sparked by the motivation of capturing markets enables the businesses to facilitate newer options for their consumers. The idea that the consumer, now before than ever, has access to a plethora of choices instead of being bound by the outdated items for sale.

In conclusion, it is evident that advertising has become an inseparable part of the dynamic life and prompts the masses to incorporate an expensive lifestyle wherein unnecessary buying is common.