Write about the following topic. To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Many individuals think some insects should be served as an alternative. However, others contend that this source is not nutritious and a fatal approach to the environment. In this essay, I will analyze its benefits for the environment and food scarcity crisis, although the shortcoming effect on the ecological system.

On the one hand, the consumption of insects could address the shortage of foodstuffs due to their nutritional value and greenhouse effect. Insects, such as grasshoppers or silkworms, contain a significant amount of protein and essential vitamins. For example, there is a type of protein powder for individuals who lack nourishment that is made of ground cricket. This insect-based product has been considered to exceed the average quality of other protein resources from meat, eggs, or nuts. Furthermore, methane emissions from insect farming are a noticeable decrease compared with livestock, contributing to environmental conservation, alleviating the burden of greenhouse effect.

On the other hand, although edible insects are valuable in terms of nutrients, they might be a biological catastrophe for humankind, other species, and the vegetation. Some kinds of insects play an integral key in bio-systems, for instance, bees primarily pollinate most of the plants in the world. Bees are responsible for 75% of pollination in the world and the protection for them is to guarantee the diversity of trees, vegetables or fruits. Not only that, these creatures can be potential for allergenic reactions or epidemics due to the fact that invertebrates’ bodies contain many bacteria, viruses or parasites.

In conclusion, even though making use of insects could be a solution to food scarcity, it would be detrimental to the bio-systems and physical health. By balancing the benefits and drawbacks, we can make informed decisions about the role of edible insects in our future food systems.