Write about the following topic. To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Due to rising food demand and increasing populations, some people believe that insect-based edible products should be consumed as extra food sources. Others argue that the proposed idea is not only unhealthy but can also negtively affect the enviroment. Although, there are both advantages and disadvantates to consuming insects, I believe that the drawbacks are more detrimental.

Some people advocate for insects consumption as a way to combate famine. This notion is specificaly usuful in largely populated countries such as China. A place where hunger has lead people to consume anything before resorting to dirt. This significantly impacted the whole culture ever since the greatest famine and allowed people to find alternatives to common food items. Not only that the insect-based items help feed millions of people but also created new job opportunities, For instance, in china there are huge markets disgnated for this type of food, and it is known to attract heavy footfall.

On the other hand, others argue that eating insects is not part of the natural life cycle and the increased harvesting of insects can greatly impact the nature. Subsequently, the harmful creatures that are usually eated by insets will increase due to lack of preditor, thus the imbalance will occurr. Additionally, insects provide little to no nutritional value, making them an unhealthy food option compared to other food items. Furthermore, many diseases can be introduced as a result.

In conclusion, edible insects can be used as a food source in large populations and places of famine, but this process comes at the expense of nature and under conditions were it is not necessery this can be regarded unhealthy.