Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In this modern era, advertisements have become one of the common things in our lives. We see them everyday, everywhere. Some people believe that advertisements provoke us to do unnecessary purchases while others say that advertisements help us to select the right products that can make our lives a little better. In my opinion, both the views are true, however, i believe that advertisements can help us to choose the items that can ease our lives by giving us more options and saving our time.

I do agree that advertisements pushes us to buy more things that are not really necessary. I will share my personal experience. When I go to the website or the application of AliExpress or Temu, once I select the products that I need for example a dress for a party, the application shows similar and more vibrant products with less or comparative prices and make me confused. The next time I open the application I see similar kind of products that provokes me to look at those dresses and makes me hooked for hours before I buy the products. Now I have more than 10 dresses in my closet that has been there for over a year and I still haven’t worn them yet. so these advertisements have really done nothing for me. I have wasted my time, money and some space in my closet.

On the contrary, I would say advertisements help us a lot when you are looking to buy some products to let us know about the quality, the specifications, helps us to compare prices and choose the best product. You can get to know about the current deals or discounts that best suits your lifestyle. For example, few months ago, I was looking for a TV with certain specifications. With the help of advertisement, I got to know that there had been a 40% discount with the similar product that I was looking for . I saved around 250 dollars o that purchase which really made me happy. So, I would say advertisements does help you to find the correct product and you can save some money if you are lucky.

This essay discusses about the some pros and cons of advertisements, and I agree with both of them. However, I am a little tilted towards the positive impact of it. Advertisements although sometimes are misleading and might distract you from time to time but I believe if you are a little stong minded, you can earn a great deal and can save your money, effort on research and your time