Write about the following topic. To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Nowadays, as a result of overpopulation, growing enough food for consumption is a concerning problem. One solution related to this problem is eating insects. Despite the fact that this is done in several countries, I strongly believe that the drawbacks of this act outweigh the benefits.

To start with, although it is a part of culture in some regions, it does not mean that people should follow these habits anymore. The causes of insect consumption are based on different reasons throughout history. For instance, whenever any recessions occurred and dwellers could not afford any food, they started to find new ways to get something to eat. As a result, they added insects to their nutrition list.

On the other hand, the negative effects of this action should not be underestimated, since it has a repercussion on human health. In some cases, it may not affect people directly, however, this does not mean it should be eaten. Moreover, it is apparent that bugs constitute a part of the food chain, which makes them crucial for other kinds of creatures such as animals and plants. By reducing the amount of insects, we damage the food supply

of other living organisms. Therefore, nature is negatively affected by the wrong habits of individuals.

In conclusion, from my point of view, the use of edible insects as food should not be allowed by authorities because of its side effects on both human health and nature.