Write about the following topic. To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Many individuals may argue that in order to meet up with the demands of a rapidly increasing number of people, a nation should consider edible insects as a viable food choice. While some insects may negatively affect health, and capturing them may disrupt the environment, I think that the benefits of eating insects are difficult to ignore.

On one hand, it is very common knowledge that insects generally are considered to be rich sources of protein, fat, minerals, and vitamins, which are essential in body building and repair of damaged tissues. With more insects incorporated into the diets of many, malnutrition resulting from starvation will be addressed. To add to this, insects are cheaper and more affordable food options, which will be quite beneficial for a country with a declining economy, and a huge number of persons to feed at the same time. To illustrate this, surveys have indicated that with the introduction of insect-rich diet in many countries, their corresponding economies have improved at a significant rate as well.

On the other hand, some insects can be quite dangerous, poisonous, and unhealthy to consume. Incorporating insects as a potential dietary source can prove to be fatal in some regions of the world, because of the unhygienic measures they take to harvest them. Furthermore, capturing these animals may lead to disruption of the local ecosystem, because they are crucial in the process of pollination, which ultimately protects the life cycle. For example, there are studies that have shown that harvesting insects in their prime have brought about disastrous consequences for the food chain, and nature in general.

In conclusion, while I think that insects would serve as an excellent choice in providing food for a bountiful nation, I absolutely believe that this should be implemented with caution.