Write about the following topic. To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

In the fast-growing population, insect-based food fulfils humans basic needs. Though a few individuals think that it seriously affects the environment and is dangerous to health. While the use of insects gives nutrients is the one merit, yet it threatens all diversity extinction. In this essay, I will explain the given statement with relevant examples.

Primarily, intake of insects is a good alternative method to solve nutrient deficiency. Because these kinds of creatures have a high amount of protein and essential elements.lack of rich nutrition food, currently many people die due to the malnutrition globally. In order to get proper food nutrients, which is a better choice than livestock.Generally, the insect population rate is high, and they also need less land and can adapt to harsh conditions. Which means nations can produce massively to resolve lack of defiency, which helps to wipe out poverty in countries, especially in developing countries. For example, many people cannot afford to buy vegetable red meat, pulses, and fruits in their daily lives. In this situation, harvesting insects in their homes is very easy and cheaper to maintain.In fact, that gives a higher amount of proteins like Omega-3- fatty acids and iron, zinc, and B complex, which are included in chickens, beef, fish, and vegetables. As a part of insects as a food, it substantially decreases nutrition deficiency in people and gives more energy.

Despite this,Consuming insects significantly leads to many environmental issues because most of the insects are pollinators that severely affect plants and their vegetation, small animals, and insectivorous animals. Clearly, in the absence of insects, plants cannot bloom and produce their offspring, which adversely affects many species, especially endangered species, who rely on plants and other animals. Likewise, excessive cultivation of insects has a harmful effect on other crops. For instance, in India, many wheat and paddy fields are attacked by grasshoppers and crickets, and they damage and eat the juicy, tender part of the plant. As a result, farmers have huge losses from their crops. Further more, mass production of insects negatively impacts fauna and flora and even destroys agricultural land.

To conclude, insects are a good food option in the growing population world to mitigate the nutrition deficiency.These foods have rich protein and contain essential vitamins that provide energy. However, the massive increase of insects significantly affects all living organisms and their extinction.