Write about the following topic. Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the past decades, a wide range of human activity areas like education, healthcare, commerce and everyday life have been already changed by the digital world’s evolution. In my opinion, the main advantages such as accessibility and convenience in terms of time and information resources outweigh the drawbacks.

First of all, the evident disadvantages of information technology, that we can already observe, are data security and unemployment. Storing and handling information about users is a common part of many services, but if data protection is weak, hackers can steal it. For instance, in 2022 a large leak of users’ IDs, addresses, names and documents from the service of delivering food Yandex.Eats has led to changes in a law about privacy. Yet another drawback is the growth of an unemployment level due to an automatization of routine and repetitive jobs. In my opinion, these issues can be partially solved through government policies in requirements for level of data protection and providing courses for obtaining and improving qualifications.

Regarding advantages, convenience from experience of information technology use dominates mentioned drawbacks. It is really incredible that a person can access services from any point of the world and the example of the Coronavirus pandemic shows that it is an irreplaceable opportunity. Moreover, the resource optimization in terms of spending time is a strong suit of IT. For example, in the modern world if someone wants to learn something new, he does not need to go to a specific library and seek out proper articles, because he can find them online.

In conclusion, despite the fact that information technology has some significant problems, which are yet to be tackled, I believe that provided opportunities move our world to the future.