Write about the following topic. To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Processing insects into food to provide sufficient nutrition for the massive population worldwide has been considered a viable solution for some nations. However, some people encounter that the use of insects is considered damaging both health and nature. This essay will examine further the pros and cons of rendering insects into a food option.

On the one hand, this species can be an effective solution to tackling food insufficiency issues, as insects are known for its prolific nature. In other words, humans can breed them in enormous number in a short period of times. They also do not require a huge space to reproduce. Furthermore, some insects, such as grasshopper and red palm weevil, are known for the high protein that they contain. Hence, in some countries in Asia, people fry grasshopper to turn them into snacks.

On the other hand, consuming insects is considered strange in some nations. One of the main reasons is that the shape of insects is unattractive and some people feel nauseous simply by looking them. That is to say, if insects are not reshaped when served as food, most people will avoid consuming them. Moreover, insects that are intended to be processed as a food for humans should be fed with clean food. In other words, some insects may consume food sources that are thought to be dirty for people, such as humans’ waste. Therefore, organizations should meet the hygiene standards when nourishing and processing insects into consumer goods.

In conclusion, altering insects into food options can be a sustainable way as they do not need large areas and simply require short amount of time to breed. In addition, some insects offer high protein nutrition. However, the way of fostering and processing them will determine how people view them as food.