Write about the following topic: Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern era, the number of families that struggle finding an accomodation has dramatically increased. This housing crisis is primarly due to the rise in global population and many major cities do not manage to provide shelters to those who are needy. Land for new buildings is hard to find, since suburbs have become very crowded and many restrictions have been set to limit the construction in city centres. Local governments are trying to solve the problem by allowing the rise of new buildings in public green spaces.

I do not think that reassigning park land for residential development could be an effective solution to this problem. I firmly believe that other possible solutions must be evaluated.

Firstly, governments should take into account that there are many unutilized buildings in most cities. For instance, in my hometown there are several buildings that used to host offices and industries. Today, these places are empty and degradated, not serving a purpose anymore. So, they could provide plenty of room for new appartments. Agencies specialized in restructuration should be hired to renew these places.

Moreover, people are nowadays more intrested in ethical issues related to environment and its usurpation. Reducing parks, cutting down trees and putting a cement layer over grass will eventually lead to protests and opposition from those who care about environmental themes. We must always keep in mind that Earth is our home and if we stress too much our planet’s ground, without leaving room to rain and sunlight, we may cause some catastrophic events. It is not a case that floods incidence is rising year-to-year.

In conclusion, there are other solutions we should consider before enterprising unreversible actions. If local governments listened to their citizens’s opinions, maybe they would not choose such extreme and irresponsible acts.