Write about the following topic: Many people believe that it is better to learn something in a group rather than individually. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The Fourth Industrial Revolution in the 21st century has turned people’s lives upside down, as its innovations have been great game changers in every aspect of modern times. This has led to an ongoing debate about whether people in this contemporary era have been living a much better life compared to those in previous times. From my perspective, I agree with this statement for some reasons, but also have conflicting viewpoints, which are outlined below.

To commence with, there are some compelling facts supporting the given statement. First and foremost, modern people in many parts of the world no longer face food shortages as severe as those in earlier eras, as technological advancements have enabled the production of food in large quantities and on a larger scale. In addition, advancements in the field of healthcare are also a significant step forward, as many diseases once thought to be incurable now have treatment protocols, resulting in an increase in the lifespan of modern humans. For instance, pneumonia and tuberculosis, two of many fatal diseases of the past, have been controlled and are no longer a threat to people today. Another noteworthy point is that the introduction of the internet has completely transformed modern lives by offering amenities that transcend beyond the physical and national borders, which people in previous times could never have imagined. Admittedly, it helps people store and publish vast amounts of information and enables them to access information from any corner of the world without any geographical barriers.

Nevertheless, every era has its own issues, and the 21st century is no exception. One of the defining problems in this century is the aging population. The rising cost of living, including inflation and the increasingly unaffordable housing market, has prevented a growing number of people from securing housing or accommodation, which is considered one of the foundational conditions for marriage and having children. Moreover, psychological issues caused by unbearable societal pressure, such as those related to study, careers, relationships, and family expectations, have also become a critical concern. An increasing number of people have been turning to psychological treatments or even suicide in an attempt to free themselves from depression.

All things considered, I believe that people today have overcome critical issues of previous eras, such as food and healthcare; however, it is also important not to overlook the pressing issues of this modern time. I hope that humanity will soon find new solutions to the challenges that have been raised in the 21st century thanks to the power of science, similar to how past issues were resolved.