Write about the following topic: Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is often argued that governments spend large amounts of money on space programmes, while critics argue that this savings should have been used for addressing the issues on Earth. This essay disagrees that governments’ funding would be better spent on their space programmes. It will explain how space exploration can gain scientific knowledge, as well as creating more job opportunities.

One main reason why governments should continue investing in space programmes is that it allows individuals to explore and learn more beyond their scientific knowledge. Space research can help scientists and citizens gain deeper knowledge about the universe, which can also develop their modern scientific and technological advancements. For example, NASA had been exploring different types of planets during the 1990s which they captured a lot of visual images and information on the types of planets. As a result, students and scientists have gained valuable insights about outer space and its characteristics which expand their understanding of planets and environments.

Another significant benefit is that space programmes can create more job opportunities and increase interest in scientific careers. When governments invest heavily in this field, more citizens are encouraged to participate in these professions such as astronomers, engineers or space pilots. This not only increases job opportunities but also promotes innovation regarding science. For instance, The US government uses their savings in the space field that has inspired many citizens to pursue their careers in scientific fields such as astronomers and space pilots. Consequently, the interest in individuals who pursue these professions has increased significantly and became more popular.

In conclusion, although some argue that money should be redirected to problems on Earth, I believe that investing in space programmes is beneficial, as it improves scientific knowledge and creates valuable job opportunities.