Write about the following topic: Nowadays, many people are spending a lot of money on their appearance in order to look younger. Why do people want to look younger? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend 40 minutes on this task.

There is an upward trend in people spending lots of money in cosmetics and fillers, permanent visible touches to their appearance to preserve their looks, most aiming to appear younger for their age.

This trend can be credited for the appeal of others in looks- young, charismatic and suited agreed beauty standards of the time. It must also be taken into account that humans have long trying to find ways to perserve their beauty at their best. Thus, it also means that the present phenomenon isn’t just a new issue, but rather a deeply ingrained idea about looks. Since efforts of maintaining have been normalized, the majority would not see this as a negative development by itself, but the length people would go to be satisfied with their self view is the debatable counterpart.

With no doubt, the negative development of the topic is based upon the long-term consequences of a society valuating a person though looks alone and the rigid, long standing and detrimental beauty standard. In today’s world, it is shown though the number of people diagnosed with eating disorder, self-disorder,…and the lost lives of those going through poorly licensed beauty surgeries conducted by corporations. The craze on looking younger has left a scar on society’s deplating natural values, accepting the inevitable- aging and building the fundamentals of a modern citizen- educated, emotional and academic inteligence and self-value.

With the capitalized and comercialized glamour beauty standard, the emphasize on looking young, it is of no wonder how and why people succumb to the advertizements and societal expectations. On one hand, amny are becoming more alert and realistic more than ever to accept the flaws that make us humans, the reality not shown on beauty pagents and comercials, heading to self-love and nourishing knowledge and practical skills, further re-building self-worth and a better perception of the world arounf them and even themselves.