Write about the following topic: Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are people who think that environmental problems will eventually render the Earth unsuitable for human life, and we will have to move to another habitable planet in order to continue surviving. This essay will discuss both views, as well as explain why i disagree with this opinion.

It is a fact that environmental problems are becoming more prominent and severe than ever before, with disastrous consequences globally. It has reached a point where we can’t ignore it anymore, and immediate actions countering these problems are urgently needed. Take global warming as an example, the Earth has been warming up steadily over the past century, and with warming comes droughts, irregular weather, ecosystems collapsing, ect… which can cause devastating effects. An influx of droughts damages or even halts food production, leading to starvation. Irregular weather, like unusually strong storms, destroys infrastructure and cause numerous fatalities. While collapsing ecosystems can result in a lack of biodiversity and depletion of natural resources.

Considering all of the effects mentioned above are just from global warming alone, it is understandable as to why so many people believe that the end of our planet is nigh. But contrary to what these people think, we can actually take various actions ourselves to solve this environmental crisis, and potentially save our planet. Changes to our daily routine, such as using paper or reusable bags instead of plastic bags or saving electricity and water may sound minor, but can reduce plastic waste and conserve natural resources, meanwhile also saving you some precious money. There are also various non-profit organizations and local community events focusing on helping the environment that you can participate in. At a larger scale, we can encourage governments to take action in saving our planet, such as passing protective laws or funding research facilities to develop new technologies to save the environment.

In conclusion, i think that we have already dealt severe damage already, and are facing the consequences. But it’s not too late to turn back and redeem our past mistakes. Being pessimistic is not going to solve anything, and we should all work towards a bright future.