Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, internet has significantly influenced the manner in which people communicate. In fact, larger percentage of conversations occurs through social media. An argument has ensued as to whether this is a milestone with good or bad effects. In my opinion, despite the negative effects such as security issues and possible loss of physical social interactions, internet is a remarkable step towards cheaper, fast, and real-time communications among individuals.

On the one hand, communication over the internet through social media platforms presents some negative challenges. First, there are security problems such as identity theft, which occurs when black hat hackers either take over an individual’s social media account or, through phishing, access personal data. This may result in further losses where bank accounts may be illegally accessed by the hackers. Secondly, social media seems to engage people so much that physical social interactions are limited. Consequently, individual become asocial. Nevertheless, these challenges may be overcome through securing individuals’ accounts with stronger passwords which should never be shared with others, and also limiting usage of social platforms during outdoor gatherings to pave way for physical social interactions.

On the other hand, social media has simplified communications, presenting numerous benefits to the people. First of all, internet communications are fast and in real-time. For example, one can connect with an individual living abroad in seconds, and get feedback. If it were through traditional means such as postal letters, it would take a month to receive feedback. What is more, communicating through internet is cheaper than the conventional means. For instance, a Whatsapp call can be almost free when using public Wifi. It would, otherwise, cost a few dollars to make a call conventionally.

In conclusion, internet has revolutionised communications, making it cheap, fast and in real-time. It is, however, without drawbacks such as security issues, and the potential of limiting peoples’ physical social interactions. But, I think, positive effects outway the cons, because there are ways to mitigate the dangers associated with social media use.