Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays the way we communicate with each other is changing, usually through technology instead of traditional forms. While some people are in favor of communicating via internet, other ones rejected this because of different side-effects that are negative. This following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument and explains my point of view that disagrees with the idea of social media as the best way to stay-in-touch with people.

Undoubtedly, the internet has many positive impacts and helps us as society to discover new things, to stay in touch with friends who are in other countries or cities and even to find a job. Another point worth noting is the possibility to have a reminder of birthday and special dates of people you love, so it helps as well as a calendar of important dates. From my perspective, if we use the internet in a good way, it has a positive impact on people’s lives.

On the other hand, if we think about disadvantages of the internet, I can think in a long list but I am going to state two of them. Firstly, security is one of the most important features you lost with internet. People usually post stories on social media, for example Instagram, with everything they are doing at the exact moment. In our country this could be dangerous because you do not have privacy at all. The second reason I can point out is the loss of human contact while people use cellphones. Some prefer to waste time on the internet instead of sharing quality time.

As you can see, after weighing up both sides of the argument, I think that we can easily think in more sides effects of social media and internet in place of the good ones. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been influenced by my own personal experience.