Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, social media has been a hot topic. From Instagram to Facebook, they become a trend for all people. However, it is a two-sided. Some believe that it can foster international communication, while some criticise the harmful idea or content that is spread by social media. I believe that social media does more good than harm if proper management is carried out. This essay explains the pros and cons of social media and my opinion.

To commence with, social media is created for communication with people from around the globe. Without geographical barriers, people can exchange their cultures and values effortlessly. For example, people can comment below the posts on social media platforms to express their thoughts. As opposed to writing a letter and calling on the phone, social media would be the new antidote for communication.

However, some may criticize the adverse effect brought by social media, which is spreading inappropriate content or values. As communication is fostered, it is easier for one to spread harmful content, for instance, violence and sex on social media platforms. Envisage if teenagers, if not children see these videos, it goes without saying that they may imitate the acts shown on the videos. Therefore, it is dangerous for children and teenagers to use social media as they may be exposed to some harmful content.

Although there are criticisms on social media, I believe proper management can reduce the detrimental effects. AI filtering of content and a effective reporting system is mandatory in order to provide a better onlie communication environment for people.

To conclude, I believe that a proper management on social media platform is needed to foster global communicatoin.