Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is hard to argue that unhealthy eating is good for a person’s health, as to whether it is unhealthy for society, as a whole, is debatable. Prescribing a, so called, ‘fat tax’ is another debate entirely, one which people will never entirely agree upon.

Science and advancements in modern medicine have shown that eating unhealthy food extensively has a negative effect on a person’s well-being. Many illnesses/conditions are avoidable but are brought upon by individuals unhealthy eating habits. This is evidenced by Diabetes – Type 2. Diabetes -Type 2 is a condition which causes the body to inadequately control blood sugar levels and, unlike Diabetes – Type 1, is caused by people and their unhealthy choices. Many heart conditions are also caused by obesity and the intake of unnatural sugars and fats. In my opinion, eating foods that are unhealthy is not wrong, we just need to be mindful and eat these foods in moderation.

Society is also affected mainly due to the example set for the younger generation. The United States of America is in the public eye constantly and they have developed a stigma of being a nation of obese people due to the rapid development of ‘fast food’ chains. Many young people consume American content and culture daily on social media and this can have a negative influence on their eating and exercising habits. I believe that this is a concern, but I also feel that individuals and families need to be responsible for their own choices.

Taxing unhealthy foods is a contentious issue and one that will be debated for years to come. I believe that the government has a certain amount of responsibility in looking after its people, but this should not be done by insisting the working-class pay more money. National and local governments should be engaging with the corporations who manufacture and sell unhealthy foods and create policies and agreements surrounding the making and distributing of these foods. I also believe that allied campaigns can be run to promote healthier lifestyles.

Ultimately a healthy lifestyle is something that everyone should be striving for. Eating unhealthy foods should be done in moderation and a positive example should be portrayed for the younger generations.