Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Overconsumption of junk foods has many implications on society and its citizens. Some call out for a fat tax to be imposed upon unhealthy foods, while others believe that it is unfair and impractical. This essay examines both views and why I agree with the implementation of the tax.

On one hand, imposing a tax on unhealthy foods can improve the general population’s, as well as the future generation’s health. By implementing such taxes, many would be deterred from purchasing and eating junk food. For example, when they switch to healthier alternatives, such as fruits and vegetables, it directly lowers their risk of contracting issues commonly associated with over consumption of junk food, like coronary heart disease or obesity. This improves the overall health of the general population and instills better dietary habits in children, therefore, benefiting the future society.

On the other hand, many believe that a fat tax is prejudiced against the lower income families and society. For instance, if such taxes were imposed, many poorer individuals would struggle to afford any meals, as healthy foods are expensive due to the manual labor involved, like farming. As a result, they cannot balance their budget between food and other expenses, leading some to feel that the tax is unfair. Moreover, many argue that awareness programs are more effective than a fat tax and less harsh on poor people, while getting the message across. Hence, such taxes affect the lower-class individuals by straining their budget, as well as force society to comply with it.

To conclude, although some argue that a fat tax is unfair and pointless, I believe that imposing such taxes would significantly improve overall populations physical well-being, as well as benefit the future society’s citizens.