Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People nowadays are preferring eating junk foods despite knowing its consequences on health. Some people believes that it is important to impose tax on unhealthy food items whereas other says that it is not necessary to force fat tax. In my opinion, tax on unhealthy food should be imposed as people now are becoming unhealthy and obese due to the consumption of more junk food.

Recently, one news channel did a poll and ask regrading food, people love to eat and junk food was clearly a winner as 90% preferred it. The consequences that we see from eating outside food is alarming. Comparing to last decade, life span of individual has dropped drastically. Moreover, young people are more obese now and we can see they are less healthier than old generation people. It is because of type of food they are consuming. Young people working in office prefer to eat junk food item rather than eating fruits even if fruit shop is also there. So, It is better option to apply tax on these food items to reduce consumption of these food items. To illustrate, purchase of various soft drinks in India reduced significantly after tax was imposed on them.

On the contrary, it can be unfair to enforce tax on some sections of society. Fast food is considerably more affordable as compared to healthy food. So, imposing tax will make it costlier and will be cruel for some individuals. Moreover, increased taxes will collapse the fast food industry. They play a vital role in the economic growth of country and a sudden decline in purchase of junk food items due to imposition of taxes can lead to instability and various other issues.

To conclude, even though, we know that implementing tax will cause problem to some people as well as some industry but it is is necessary to have tax on various food items which are unhealthy as it causing us various health issues. Moreover, life span is reduced now. Various diseases like diabetes, hypertension, cholesterol are common especially in youth due to consumption of fast food.