Write at least 250 words. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The custom of having food together in families is becoming uncommon in many countries. This might happen due to a lack of time and the trend for nuclear families. However, it has a negative impact on society and communities. This essay will discuss the reasons and effects of this shift.

Firstly, nowadays everybody is engaged in some work and hence they cannot spare some time for their family. They usually prefer to have their suppers at their workplace like a canteen. In this case, the other family members at home had to have their meal alone. Furthermore, the trend of nuclear families has drastically increased. Joint families are a thing of the past and hardly can be seen nowadays. For instance, it is not unexceptional to see grandparents living in a different city.

The communities have an adverse effect. The value of a relationship is not maintained. Although sitting at the same dining table, people are often busy on their phones and laptops. Consequently, a lack of communication can increase disputes among the members. Moreover, mealtimes are especially that particular part of the day when people share their whole day’s experience and even track jokes for entertainment. It is essential to spend some quality time with kinfolks.

In conclusion, a trend of the nuclear family and lack of time are the two significant factors that play a role in weakening the bonds. As a result, the colors of thrills and amusement fade eventually. It is a disrespect to our culture and customs.