WRITING PRACTICE TEST 21 WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are conflicting beliefs over the Governments accessibility to confidential cell phone information of its people, with safety being the main reason. On the other hand, individual privacy and consent to this information must be acknowledged. Access to phone data must be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.

In most countries, constitutional laws state that people have the right to privacy. Therefore, people are free to use their mobile devices to store personal information such as images or, engage with others on social media platforms. However, people can use their phones to partake in criminal activities including drug trafficking, money laundering and, blackmail. Information on these activities are vital pieces of evidence solving criminal cases and, prosecuting criminals.

The government is the only entity capable of using data as evidence in court of law, to prosecute criminals.

Despite this rationale, society has a general distrust of the governments intentions. There have been instances where government officials have abused their authority for personal gain. According to most laws, the right to safety of the masses supersedes an individuals right to privacy. to access an individuals information when authorities suspect their involvement in crime. It is unethical to investigate an individuals data, without a valid reason.

Authorities are often forced to take drastic measures such as accessing phone information, to maintain law and order in society. Although many people disagree with this, it is critical to solving many criminal cases and ensuring the well-being and safety of society.