WRITING PRACTICE TEST 21 WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are sectors of the community who advocate for the government to be given access to call and message logs on mobile phones belonging to the populace. However, some submit that the right to privacy should be respected, and so, this information should only be given after seeking consent. This essay will show why the latter submission is more relevant.

To begin with, cellphones have made the world a global village by easing communication within and beyond countries. This means that this communication can easily be traced to an individual’s phone. It would then be prudent to ensure that this information is safeguarded at all costs, as people may be prejudiced if their communications are shared. For instance, if a business idea is discussed over a phone call or a text message, this information may be leaked to a competitor who may end up having a competitive advantage over the owner of the cellular phone. Thus, the privacy on call and message records should be kept secure.

However, it is no secret that communications that can destabilize a country can also be relayed over phone services. This was exemplified by the recent demonstrations that ensued in Kenya recently. The protestors coordinated themselves on social media to mount one of the greatest movements to ever grace the country, which led to deaths and destruction of infrastructure. If the government had been able to decode some of this communication prior, it could have prevented the uprising. While this is the case, the question of who determines what information is safe becomes important. It can be argued that authorities may use the power they have over information to unnecessarily crush dissent.

In conclusion, I believe that governments should not be given access to information on our mobile phones. Although potentially disastrous events may be arranged via communications on these gadgets, privacy rights should be respected.