Writing Task 2 Some people believe that happiness and emotional maturity are more important than physical health, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Write at least 250 words.

People have different opinions on whether being happy and emotionally stable are more significant than physical fitness. I believe that both these aspects of life are equally vital.

On the one hand, it is important for people to remain cheerful and mentally stable. To begin with, people who are happy tend to be more successful. This is because, happiness produces hormones that result in sensations of pleasure, improves a person’s appetite, memory, and their interest in reward-producing activities such as eating and workouts. Furthermore, happy people tend to attract others to them, helping them develop healthy and emotionally mature relationships. Finally, this in turn leads to reduced stress and emotional maturity which leads to team collaboration and increased productivity.

On the other hand, it is equally vital for people to pay attention to their physical fitness as the benefits are also quite similar. First of all, physical exercise is responsible for blocking negative thoughts or has the ability to divert people’s attention from unnecessary apprehensions. For instance, people who are committed to regular fitness activities such as morning walks or a fixed time at the gymnasium or engaging in outdoor sports are happier as their drain themselves from negative thoughts. Besides, exercising with others provides them with an opportunity for greater socialization leading to improved relationships and hence develop a sense of community which is essential in improving social sensitivity. Lastly, increased physical fitness has the ability to lift people’s mood thus helping them to be more productive.

In conclusion, for the above-mentioned reasons, it seems to me that happiness and emotional maturity as well as physical health are critical aspects of a successful life.