WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Nowadays, people hold contrasting views on the importance of theatres and cinemas in the digital age. While some believe that they are accessible online, others argue that these forms of entertainment still play a vital role in both economy and culture. I completely agree with the latter opinion, and will outline my positon with some reasons.

On the one hand, these entertainment options are indeed available online which can make conditions more convenient. This is because, in 21th century, people are able to watch content anywhere, often for free or at a low cost, without spending much time to travel to the cinema venues, which saves both time and effort. As a result, this leads people to regard it as better choice. For example, the rapid growth of streaming platforms such as Netflix and Youtube shows that many people value the convenience of watching films at home rather than going to the theater and cinema.

On the other hand, I believe that these forms of entertainment remain crucial both economically and culturally. The main reason is that they provide a great number of job opportunities for job seekers, leading to reducing rate of unemployment, which contribute to economic growth. In addition, by attending performances and watching films, people can gain a deeper understanding of other cultures and broaden their horizons.. Consequently, it helps strengthen the economy, creating opportunities, and can be culturally beneficial.

In conclusion, despite the fact that some people think theatres and cinemas are not important anymore, I believe they help improve economic performance and contribute to personal development as well.