WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people say that now is the best time in history to be living. What is your opinion about this? What other time in history would be interesting to live in? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people believe that one can understand another person’s character or culture by just glancing at their clothes. However this is not always accurate, and making assumptions on a person’s attire can be misleading. In this essay, I will discuss my point of view on both ideas.

On the one hand, clothing holds cultural significance and may indicate a person’s heritage or background. Traditional garments such as a Sari would portray that a person is Indian and that they value and take pride in their customs. It also shows that they desire to have a connection with their culture. For instance, many people are living in mixed societies and one can tell each other’s background by looking at their clothing. Moreover, many people like to have ironed and cleaned clothes rather than creased, wrinkly or dirty. These things can tell us, about his or her character, that person like to have everything perfectly.

On the other hand, it is not fair to judge a person by what they are wearing. Firstly one could make a wrong judgement or experience misunderstanding. For example, if a person is wearing luxurious clothing one makes a mistake of them as being a show-off or having a bad character meanwhile the person is humble. Also, many people are following fashion trends or trying to fit in with society, hence their clothes might be unusual. Their clothing should not be a basis for judging their character, as they may have an amazing nature.

In conclusion, it is true that people’s outfits can possibly say a lot about an individual’s character and culture because clothing can say many things about a person, but just the surface things and not the deeper character. However, I believe it is not right that we judge any person based on their outfit, since everyone has the right to wear whatever they wish.