WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people say that now is the best time in history to be living. What is your opinion about this? What other time in history would be interesting to live in? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The idea that modern days are the best time in history for a human being to live has been circulating widely in both academic and popular discussions. Supporters of this claim argue that the current millinum (from 2000 onward) is characterized by less violence, enhanced living standards, and technological advances, all leading to a safer and less challenging environemnt for Gen Z to grow up. Hereinafter, I explain my stance on why this is not completely true, while also describing a better time window in the near past history, when globe-wide life was objectively better.

With respect to the first argument, it is true that major war conflicts are fewer since the establishment of the United Nations post-WW2. However, this has been the case for only the western world, including the US, Europe, Japan, and Australia. As we move to the Global South, we can easily notice frequent border-related conflicts, genocides (or genocidal attempts), and different forms of oppression applied to under-developed and developed nations specifically. For instance, the so-called “civil war” in Sudan, which led to its split into two nations (Sudan and South Sudan) has been fueled by foreign policy players, alongside the gun-manufacturing complex. Since the early 2010, over one million sudaneese have been killed, with more than 10 million others being displaced locally, forced into a long-Lasting diaspora, or facing documented famine and health issues.

Indeed, the living standards have enhanced worldwide, as demonstrated by the larger population finally having access to proper education, sanitation, sufficient food supply, and fresh water. Nonetheless, the same period since 2000 showed a larger sense on inequality. This is evident in the rise in the number of billionairs, when the lower class is becoming even poorer and the middle class is diminishing over time. The unfair distribution of wealth, such as in India and Egypt, has led to social instability and discrimination posed to low-income families.

While technological advances (the third argument) have made life easier for many workers, it introduced a substantial shift to the job market. Specifically, the increasing automation and use of robots in the industrial sector has led to frequent layoffs of skilled labor. One example of this is major carriers and shippment companies, such as Amazon, where the vast majority of tasks in the production line are being automated, leading to an ever-increasing rate of unemployment.

I have a firm conviction that the few years directly after the second world water were the optimal to live in. On one hand, the colonial spots were diminishing over time, with many southern nations declaring dependence. On the other hand, the astrocities of war were a recent memory. Hence, most authorities found it imperative to re-think their policies and societal stands to ensure a sustainable future for the upcoming generations. Moreover, back then, people were thriving to live in peace, and life-work balance was still in place.