WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. As part of a class assigment you have to write about the following topic: We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in business, hospitals, crime detection and even to fly planes. What things will they be used in the future? Is this dependence on computers a good thing or should we be more suspicious of their benefits? You should write at least 250 words.

The advancement of technological development in the world has seen computers play more prominent roles in peoples’ lives. Some argue that they are necessary to improve the quality of our lives, while others are more sceptic and prefer to take a more conservative stance.

Computer enthusiasts believe that computers could one day be the ones performing medical procedures in place of humans, as they are likely to be more precise and accurate than humans. This is because they are not prone to human error or affected by emotions. Another area where computers are also making a difference is in the automobile industry. With each passing year, self-driving cars are becoming more and more of a reality. Using their predictive models, they have the potential to make our roads safer as they will be able to predict the likelihood of an accident and potentially avoid it before it is too late.

Nowadays, computers are everywhere and it is difficult to imagine a world without them. They make our lives more convenient and help people save time. Rather than getting lost on the way to an event, a person can simply use the GPS on their phones. Similarly, for those who are in fitness and health, they can now easily check their heart rates by turning to a watch on their wrist. Computers are convenient as they are reliable, never need rest and are not prone to human error.

Despite their convenience, there are risks associated with computers. As they are based on code written by humans, computers can make mistakes. Mistakes could be detrimental in high risk situations such as during life-saving surgery if the computer is the one performing the procedure. In addition, they are also vulnerable to hackers. There have been many cases where people have lost money or organisations have been blackmailed by people with ill-intent.

Clearly, with simple lines of code, computers can save us time and improve our lives. On the other hand, they are not infallible and there can be serious consequences if they make mistakes in high-stakes situations. In light of the potential for serious negative consequences, I believe that it is best to be cautious, and that being over-reliant on computers is not a good thing.