Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Retirement is something major, important, and a dramatic but also good change when reaching a certain age based of your profession. Depending of your career and profession the retirement age is changed. Some people retire at the age of 45-50 when they are in the military, some people retire between the ages of 55-60 when they are working in banks, but some people don’t have a specific age of retirement, such as teachers, doctors, etc.. Because certain professions last a lifetime.

Now when it comes to retirement age from work being raised, it can have different aspects of it being either advantageous or disadvantageous. Starting with the positive aspects of this change in many countries. Having the age of retirement being increased can seriously motivate people, in addition to people getting older feeling more stable mentally, financially, and physically. For example, when a person who has just turned 50 heard that the age of retirement has been raised, instead of being really upset about getting older and feeling like their life has come to a halt and everything has changed, they get to continue living the way they always did without feeling any changes, as well as working can prevent laziness if done not in home, so as people get older they get to be more flexible, have better healths, and so on since they still worked, and they get to save more money and make more as they increase their working years.

Now in the negative aspects, some people can have really miserable jobs, so knowing that they cannot retire early and make money out of retirement from a young age, this can cause them to feel very negative about their future plans, investments, etc.. And people who planned for relaxation would have that taken away from them.

In my personal opinion, there’s nothing better than relaxing, so I find it best if the age of retirement can be a choice instead of a law.