Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In many regions of the world, many countries’s age of retirement has increased. This change has created many advantages and disadvantages. This change in modern times will be topic of my essay.

Starting with the advantages, I believe that there are many advantages to this change. One of which is, for example, providing people with more chances. Many people nearing the retirement age feel fulfilled with what they have achieved in their careers. However, many others may feel unsatisfied with their career achievements. Extending the age of retirement would, in return, provide them with more time to accomplish their career goals. For example, a teacher who has been teaching students for many decades could potentially want to continue teaching and nurturing the promising teenagers of our future. Passing down his legacy to many more students would satisfy him. Another benefit is feeling busy. Contrary to many beliefs, many workers after retiring feel unproductive. Having a lot of free time, they feel as if they have nothing to do. Their careers have kept them productive over time, so retiring makes them feel, in some cases, useless. For example, salesmen after retiring often feel bored. Their stunning negotiating skills and talents have become part of their lives. Not feeling that thrive of enjoyment, salesmen often miss that sensation

However, I believe that there are many other disadvantages. One disadvantage is life enjoyment. Many employees have waited most of their lives for this one moment: the moment of feeling free. Once they retire, people often want to enjoy ther lives with their families and friends. For example, an entrepreneur, after allocating a fortune from working most of his life, may want to travel to hawaii to lay and tan on the beach. This freedom is what many working people strive for. Another disadvantage could be health issues related to aging. The human body condition worsens over time. A human’s physical and mental health declines over time. For example, a mathmetician’s cognitive skills become slower over time due to aging. This would make them not as energetic and productive as they were in their past.

In conclusion, despite both advantages and disadvantages, I believe that every human is different, so it truly comes down to the person.

While many may feel unaccomplished or less productive, some may feel satisfied with what they have achieved and enjoy their relaxation time after many years of working.