WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The global dependence on oil as a primary energy source has driven massive investments in oil exploration and extraction. However, with the limited nature of oil reserves and the environmental concerns linked to fossil fuel use, I agree that it would be more logical to redirect a significant portion of these resources to develope renewable energy sources.

First and most important, oil reserves are not unlimited, so instead of investing in a resorce that is bound to run out, it makes more sense to fund renewable energies. For example, wind and solar energy can provide energy undefinitely. We have to invest in these technologies to make them a more efficient and more economic sources.

Secondly, the environmental concerns of the fossil fuel use because to use this sources has to burn and this activity is one of the main causes to pollution and climate change, as it produces polluting gases. It is a fact that these new sources of power are environmentally friendly and don’t produce any greenhouse gases, contributing to global warming and its associated impacts, such as loss of biodiversity and high sea levels. Countries in the north of Europe are investing in this type of energies, so they are leading the fight against climate chang and also positioning themselves as leaders in the global energy market of the future.

In conlusion, the world’s oil resources are finite, and continuing to spend exorbitant amounts on oil exploration is short-sighted. Instead, we should invest in renewable energy, which is cleaner, more sustainable, and better suited for the long-term needs of our planet and future generations.