WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

History teaches us that crimes have always been part of our society. Due to that many people always argued about capital punishment as a reaction towards the most serious crimes. Some people think it would be the best way to educate society and avoid such crimes while others identify capital punishment as unfair and inappropriate. In this essay I will discuss and analyze both points of view, giving my own opinion.

To commence with, people who support capital punishment are strongly convinced that it should be applied for the most serious crimes, such as murder. After detention, the criminal might still be a threat to public safety. Because of that, some people firmly think that paying with one’s own life is the best way to educate society to not commit murders. For example, public executions of people who committed murders were something very usual in the past. Attending these terrible treatments caused fear and concern to the people. Consequently this led society’s individuals to be less willing to commit crimes.

On the other hand, the role of a state should be to re-educate criminals, especially murderers. In addition, it’s pretty evident that murderers are people with psychological issues. Due to that, other people think that including such criminals in a rehab program, while regularly being detained is the best approach to this problem, in contrast to capital punishment.

As far as I reckon, capital punishment should never be applied. Although there must be hard punishments for the most serious crimes, capital punishment is not a fair one. Governments should be able to create a safe society without killing and applying physical punishments. In conclusion, I think criminals should be detained while being monitored and re-educated in order to make them better people.