WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

The debate surrounding capital punishment is a complex and deeply divisive one. While a growing number of nations are moving towards its abolition, other countries have decided to maintain it. There are powerful arguments supporting the views of both proponents and detractors, although this essay is in favor of the death penalty.

On the one hand, advocates argue that capital punishment is a violation of human rights, as it constitutes an inhumane act. In addition to this, they believe that everyone should have an opportunity to be reintegrated into society, with the collaboration of psychologists, agents and doctors that should determine when these criminals are ready for that purpose. In some cases, this vision stems from religion, as religious people have accepted that everyone can be forgiven if showing regret.

On the other hand, critics contend that liberating such type of criminals poses a threat to society owing to they may relapse. Another argument is that these type of criminals shouldn’t be free anymore out of respect for the victims. They also maintain that the stricter the law is, the fewer crimes will be. However, statistics can’t say anything about this stamentent, as there are a myriad of examples that support and contradict it. I am of the opinion that the consequences of having this type of people in the streets are terrible and it is not worthy to liberate them. Many of them maintain their contacts that could commit several crimes. Morover, I am of the opinion that we should support the victims and their families.

In conclusion, both groups have sufficiently strong arguments to support their points of view even though I am firmly convinced that death penalty is necessary to avoid horrible consequences.