WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the issue of plastic waste is increasing day by day and its disposal is even more challenging. The plastic bags, bottles and even its packaging is harming the environment and making unpleasing to stay. The following paragraphs will elaborate the damages caused to the environment as well as the ways how government and individuals can mitigate the issue.

To begin with, the paramount damage caused by plastic products is the disposal. As plastic is a non-recyclable and non biodegradable, the process of waste management becomes difficult. For instance, there are several dumping areas where neither the waste is not recycled nor they are attended for further processing. Furthermore, the segregation of plastic waste is not done properly as they have to be separated from other garbage. In addition to this, the landfill sites damage the soil beneath the area , thus elevating soil pollution. The by-products of the leftover plastic penetrate the soil, hence making it not fruitful for cultivation.

However, not only government officials but also individuals should come forward with various strategies to solve the problem. Firstly, the government must implement strict waste separation rules. This can be done by providing different bins to dispose biodegradable and non-biodegradable waste. If the guidelines given by state officials is not followed, then fines has to be collected from the violaters. For example, several developing countries like Canada have designated bins for different type of waste disposal. Also, the individuals should eliminate the use of plastic by understanding its side-effects. They can start using jute bags instead of plastic ones on the grounds that the jute bags are for multiple uses.

To recapitulate, soil pollution and plastic waste disposal are the main damages caused by usage of plastic products. For reduction of plastic waste, both government and individuals have to support by proper garbage disposal as well as promoting reusable jute bags.