WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The use of plastic is bad for the environment. Plastic is commonly found in products such as bags, bottles, or product packaging. Plastic can cause a lot of damage to the ecosystem.

Oftentimes, people are using plastic recklessly. They throw away plastic waste into the ocean. As a result, the water is contaminated and it causes pollution. Furthermore, marine animals are endangered because of the pollution. There are many cases when the bodies of sea turtles get entangled in plastic rope. Moreover, plastic is non-biodegradable. It is not possible to decompose plastic with natural organism. If you bury plastic in the ground, it would still be there in 30 years.

There are many ways that the government and each individual can do to reduce the damaging effects of plastic. The government should ban single-use plastic. This action is already being enforced in some countries such as the European Union. Every country in the world should do this practice. They can use banana leaves instead for packaging like in Thailand. It is preferable to switch using plastic cutleries to the one which were made from bamboo. In addition, everyone should exercise recycling. Nowadays, it is very popular among the younger generation to recycle because they have high awareness towards the health of the mother earth. However, this situation might not be true in some poorer countries where education is still lacking.

In conclusion, Humans should be aware of the negative effects of using plastic for the earth. The use of plastic should be reduced to the minimum. Both the governments and the public should take part and work together to keep our earth safe and clean.